Military Family Resources

We owe a debt of gratitutde to our service men and women and their families.  Military families make great sacrifices for our country.  This section is dedicated to those students who are from a Military family.  Below are many links to help serve those students.  If you know of any additional links, services, or programs that may helpful, please contact Joe Cornell at joe.cornell@southernlocal.net.  

 

Educational Links

The Military Family Network

Military Kids

Ohio MIlitary Kids Upcoming Events

Our Military Kids

Military Children On The Move

Military OneSource

MCEC - Military Child Education Coalition 

Military Family Association

Ohio Department of Education - Military Family Information

Interstate Compact on Education Opportunities for Military Children

SAT / ACT Prep for Military Kids

Family Readiness and Warrior Support 

 

Military Family Resource Links

Organization Name Website Services Provided
Armed Forces Foundation www.armedforcesfoundation.org Family/financial assistance, Education
Coalition to Salute America's Heroes www.saluteheroes.org Emergency Financial Aid
Coast Guard Mutual Assistance www.cgmahq.org Interest Free Loans, financial planning
Fallen Patriot Fund www.fallenpatriotfund.org financial assistance
Help Our Wounded www.helpourwounded.org phone cards, education, financial assistance
Impact A Hero www.impactplayer.org Financial assistance, track chairs
Military Assistance Mission www.azmam.org Financial Assistance
Military Warriors Support Foundation www.militarywarriors.org homes, job assistance, financial planning
National Veterans Service Fund www.nvsf.org Financial assistance
Navy-Marine Corps Relief Society www.nmcrs.org Financial Assitance, Loans, Disaster Aid
Operation First Response www.operationfirstresponse.org financial assitance, quilts, backpacks
Operation Homefront www.operationhomefront.net Financial, Food, Repairs
Operation Family Fund www.operationfamilyfund.org Financial assistance
Operation Ward 57 www.operationward57.org Financial, other support
PenDen Foundation www.pentagonfoundation.org Financial Assistance, planning
Rebuild Hope www.rebuildhope.org Financial Assistance
Reserve Aid www.reserveaid.org Financial assistance
The Moonlight Fund www.moonlightfund.org Financial, Education
USA Cares www.usacares.org Financial, job assistance
VFW Foundation www.vfwfoundation.org financial assitance, support, phone cards
VFW Un-Met Needs www.unmetneeds.com Financial assistance

 

Military and Military Connected Scholarship Links

Applicant Eligibility:

http://www.thanksusa.org/uploads/2/1/8/6/21868748/thanksusa_student_flyer.pdf

 

Online application and information

http://www.thanksusa.org/scholarship-program.html

 

Compiled List (links) of other Scholarships

http://www.thanksusa.org/other-resources.html

 

Folds of Honor Scholarships:

https://fohscholarships.communityforce.com/

 

Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation:

https://www.mcsf.org/apply/eligibility/

 

Fisher House Foundation: Scholarship for Military Children

http://www.militaryscholar.org/sfmc/index.html

 

Fisher House Foundation: Heroes’ Legacy Scholarship

http://www.militaryscholar.org/legacy/index.html

 

No Greater Sacrifice (NGS): Children of Veterans that were killed/wounded in Combat

http://www.nogreatersacrifice.org/who-we-help

 

Ohio War Orphan Scholarship: (offered through the State, for service members KIA or 60% or greater service connected disability

https://www.ohiohighered.org/ohio-war-orphans

 

Scholarships for Military Spouses

 

Nation Military Family Association: Spouse Scholarship:

http://www.militaryfamily.org/spouses-scholarships/scholarships.html?referrer=http://www.militaryscholar.org/

 

Pat Tillman Foundation: Spouse Scholarship

http://pattillmanfoundation.org/apply-to-be-a-scholar/

Contact Us
Southern Jr./Sr. High School (7-12)920 Elm Street
Racine, OH 45771